Talon News - Good Local News



November 23, 2018

Lady Tiger Varsity Volleyball back L-R Jaylynn Nakai,Madison Edwards, Hannah Tillman, Hailey Funk, April Trujillo, Shaizlayeah Harrison, Carley Smith, Shantell Evans front L-R Liz Cox, Trinity Pollock, Reigan Weaver, Avery Adair, Helen Moore.

Lady Tigers & Bobcats Make All-District

By Jacque Ritchie, TALON

Every year around Thanksgiving, All-District teams in football, volleyball and cross country begin to show up in local newspapers all across the country. Most folks do not know what All-District teams are and how they are selected.

According to Frisco ISD Althletic Director David Kuykendall, All-District teams are not really teams at all in-as-much-as they don't actually play together or against anyone. All-District teams are actually a list of the best players in a given sport, like a dream team the coaches vote on.

District 1 4A Ladies Volleyball Tournament was held the second week in November with Kirtland High School Lady Broncos taking home the first place trophy going an impressive 16-7 overall for the season and 9-1 in district play. Aztec finished 13-9 overall and 6-4 in district play. The Bloomfield Bobcats went 6-15 overall and 2-8 in district.

Typically, the winning district team will hold a meeting and each head coach will submit a list of nominees and the coaches will vote on the All-District team by secret ballot. This year AHS Lady Tigers Reigan Weaver and Liz Cox were named to the 13 woman All-District Team, as was Bloomfield High's Halle Payne. Besides bragging rights All-District team members receive medals for being selected. AHS Reigan Weaver and Kambree Pierro (Kirtland HS) shared district Co-Players of the Year and also received medals for earning that top honor. Kirtland Head Coach Nadia Begay won the medal for District 1 4A Coach of the Year.

Honorable mentions include from AHS; Carley Smith, Shaizelyah Harrison, Jaylynn Nakai, Madison Edwards. Note; Edwards is currently an eighth grader enrolled at Koogler Middle School. This year Edwards made the AHS varsity Lady Tiger squad and is certainly one to watch next season. Honorable mentions for Bloomfield Lady Bobcats include; Shaylee Charley, Sierra Munoz, Katie Waresback.

Congratulations to all the District 1 4A winners on a great season!


Reader Comments


Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2019

Rendered 06/17/2019 19:23