Talon News - Good Local News

By Debbie Israel

San Juan County Swears In New Elected Officials

New officials take office Jan. 1, 2017


January 6, 2017

Debbie Israel

SJC CEO Kim Carpenter welcomed everyone to the ceremony on Dec. 29

On Dec. 29, Judge Brad Dalley swore in the newly elected officials in preparation for them to resume or take over their county offices on January 1, 2017. The ceremony took place at the San Juan County Administration Building to a crowded room. Commissioner Jack Fortner said "In my 20 years as an elected official, this is the biggest crowd at a swearing-in ceremony I've ever seen."

Those sworn in included commissioners, Assessor, Treasurer, Clerk and deputy positions.

Debbie Israel

New San Juan County Clerk Tanya Shelby and her Deputy Clerk Alyssa Kuhn taking their oath of office

New Commissioner John Beckstead was elected to take over the seat that was previously held by Keith Johns, who did not run for re-election; and Commissioner Jim Crowley, former Aztec City Commissioner, will take over for Scott Eckstein who was termed out. Incumbent Jack Fortner has begun his second term.

County Assessor Jimmy Voita was appointed to his current position when the previous assessor Clyde Ward, relocated to Santa Fe. He won the election in November and will continue as Assessor. He has appointed John Kuhn as his Chief Deputy Assessor.

In-coming County Clerk Tanya Shelby has been Deputy Clerk under outgoing Clerk Debbie Holmes for several years. She was elected to the position in November and has appointed Alyssa Kuhn as Depty Clerk.

County Treasurer Mark Duncan began his second term, along with his Deputy, Carol Taulbee.


Reader Comments


Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2018